Being in a car accident is a frightening experience - one so frightening that you might not immediately think to gather all the pertinent information to make a personal injury case later on. The truth is car accidents are all too common, and many people never bring the case to court to collect on damages they deserve.
Being a passenger in an Uber accident may be especially confusing, as you may not be sure who to call. If you weren't a driver or the owner of either of the cars involved, you may have no idea what to do next. This guide will help you make smart decisions after an Uber accident.
Receive Medical Attention
One of the first things you should do after any car accident is receive medical attention. You will have a difficult time proving your injuries if you were never treated for them. If you are badly injured, receive medical attention at the scene or call an ambulance if necessary.
As soon as possible after the accident, gather driver and witness information. Even though you are not the driver of the vehicle, you should ask for the other driver's insurance information. If you are unable to pursue a case through Uber's insurance, you may need to get in touch with this other driver's company.
You may also need this information to report the accident to the police. You must report the accident if an injury was involved or if the accident caused more than $250 in damage to personal property. Without record of the accident, you may not be able to pursue a case.
Understand the Insurance Policies Involved
Uber offers insurance to cover passengers when a transaction is taking place. This insurance protects you as a passenger in addition to your property while you are in the vehicle.
Alabama is an at-fault state, meaning the driver who is deemed the cause of the accident is the one responsible for the injuries involved.
Drivers who contract for Uber carry third-party liability coverage. This insurance covers damages to third parties, including drivers and pedestrians. Drivers also have uninsured or underinsured coverage for bodily injury. If the driver of the other vehicle is at fault but lacks insurance, the Uber driver's insurance will cover up to $1,000,000.
Keep in mind that sometimes Uber may not want to cover the accident, even if their driver was at fault. In this case, you would need to seek damages through the insurance policy of one of the drivers. The insurance company you sue is based on which driver was the cause of the accident.
For most personal injury lawsuits, Alabama has a two-year statute of limitations. The statute of limitations is extended if you were not reasonably able to determine you had the injury you are suing about. In a case like that, you would have two years after diagnosis to pursue a claim.
To act quickly, you need a strong personal injury attorney on your side. Hiring an attorney helps you bring the case to court with the evidence and witnesses you have collected.
Even though you weren't driving one of the vehicles, you are eligible to sue for damages for your injuries. Personal injury attorneys know how to contend with insurance companies that might try to get out of paying their fair share.
Are you curious about filing a personal injury claim after an Uber accident? Call The Law Offices of Phillip Garrison Wedgworth for answers to some of your questions. You can set up a consultation with a personal injury attorney who cares about your needs.